Sharks' Teeth - It Transfers & Grows Tapes

This item isn't currently available.

SOLD OUT for now

Sharks' Teeth - It Transfers & Grows.

Sharks’ Teeth is the synth based project of Tyler Scurlock, Emily Hafner, Devin Hildebrand, and Shelby Grosz.

01 - Don't Touch My Feet
02 - Warm Legs
03 - Karma Decay
04 - It's Bad for You
05 - Lost In The Cosmos
06 - EXP

07 - Melting Belief
08 - She Teaches Art
09 - Electric Lucifer
10 - Life Transformation

Release date: Sept. 2 - 2016

First pressing of 100 clear tapes
with white ink print.

Community Records - 070

listen to the first track "Don't Touch My Feet" here:

mailorder 12" vinyl from Gigantic Noise here:

It’s rare for music acts in New Orleans to embrace synthesizers, much less to evoke in doing so the instrument’s embryonic paradox of enhancing pop music and elevating beyond what was previously considered musical. Sharks’ Teeth do so comprehensively. Four synthesizer operators, headed by Tyler Scurlock of Sun Hotel, create astral electronic atmospheres and gleaming shapes that most immediately recall Yo La Tengo’s minimal, melancholic indie and modern synth pop experimenters The Knife and Fever Ray. In the dark, emotional lineage of New Order and John Maus, Sharks’ Teeth offers a powerful affective interface through lyrics and melodies dipping into profound dejection while always keeping open the option to dance and move with the band’s brazen-yet-thoughtful pop expressions. “It Transfers & Grows,” their first release on Community Records, on top of all of this, evokes Todd Rundgren’s early soft space-funk balladry and Orchestral Manoeouvres in the Dark’s outsider anthems. All of this, Scurlock’s Bandcamp-published experimentation, and such creative performances as their quadrophonic orchestra situate Sharks’ Teeth as a synth pop act remarkable in a way New Orleans hasn’t yet fostered.

FFO: Kate Bush, Oppenheimer Analysis, and Bjork